top of page
  • Writer's pictureJake Stone

A Pastor and Spider-Man walk into a comic convention...

Okay, okay. I don't know the real Spider-Man. Wouldn't that be cool...



October 2022, a couple of friends and I took the plunge, risked it all, and traveled to New York City for the 2022 New York Comic-Con. Well, we didn't risk anything (except I was "risking" a trip shortly after forcing COVID to tap out). And before you get all political or conspiratorial on me, you're welcome to have any opinion on COVID, but all I know is that coffee smelled like New York City subway sewer water for nearly three months.


So, there we were, taking to the streets of "The Big Apple", wanting to see what all of this Comic-Con business was all about. Was it going to be like entering an alien spacecraft that smelled of unlaundered basement (I've already stated coffee smelled like trashcan water, so you probably don't want to hear my opinion on that anyhow)? Was the experience going to change our lives? Transform us into Super-nerds? Were we going to be one of the first humans to hear [the] news that Robert Downey Jr. was reprising his role as the savior of the Marvel Universe (I'm a pastor. I know that's absurd. There's only one Savior, and I'm pretty sure He doesn't dress like that)?


Well, if you're already tired of reading, allow me to sum it up with this - I'll be attending the 2023 NYCC with twice as many people. I wouldn't say that the experience changed my life, but it certainly inspired me. If I may, allow me to give you three things my first ever Comic-Con experience taught me.


#1 - Authenticity is crucial


Authentic does not mean careless. Authentic does not mean heartless. Authentic does not mean "That's just who I am". Authenticity starts with curiosity, continues with learning, and plays itself out through purpose. True authenticity is tested, tried, and true. It runs on the fuel that is purpose. First, someone needs to be curious as to what makes them who they are. We need to have space to be honest about our desires and hopes. This is where most people proceed to conclude "That's just who I am". That's cheap and easy. These proclivities we find showing up again and again should compel us to learning. We should become experts on what makes us "us". We should learn the faults of these proclivities as well as the strengths. Our strengths aren't meant to be weapons, nor our faults meant to be excuses. There are few things that inspire the world more than a person who is self-aware, always learning about themselves, and leveraging all of it for a purpose greater than themselves. Most of us, once we're done and gone, would rather not be known for "That's just who they were". There's something special about authenticity. It's difficult to deal with, but we certainly can't deal without it.


There are few things that inspire the world more than a person who is self-aware, always learning about themselves, and leveraging all of it for a purpose greater than themselves.

#2 - Creativity is exciting


Have you ever noticed that some people seem to be afraid of creativity? Now, to be fair, creative people are a little scary. I work for them. I lead them. I sometimes am "them". So, I get it. I don't even have to like whatever it is you are creating, but typically creativity is appealing. Creativity is necessary for innovation, expression, and inspiration. Creativity is necessary for anyone to move forward. Embrace creativity. After all, if you're not creating or innovating, then you're not dreaming. God help us if we become dreamless beings. Dream big! Launch great big things. Build great big things. Pursue great big things. There's something special about creativity. It's difficult to deal with, but we certainly can't deal without it.


#3 - Identity is sacred


The previous points are things you do, not who you are. Your identity matters. Your identity is special. You might not know this, but your identity has never been up for debate or been lost in infinite nothingness waiting to be discovered. The New York Comic-Con was fun and inspiring, and I can't wait to go back. I will tell you this, though - Do not underestimate the power of "who you are". Are you a pastor? Maybe. Are you Spider-Man? Maybe (I bet no one has ever seen both of you in the same place at the same time). Are you a nerd? Are you a Christian? Are you an Atheist? Be very careful with who or what you claim to be. Your identity is more than what you do, it's who you are. It's sacred. You're sacred. There's something special about identity. It's difficult to deal with, but we certainly can't deal without it.


So, thank you.


Thank you to all the people who have inspired the world to be creative, innovative, and expressive. If you haven't heard it before - We see you. The New York Comic-Con showed me that. Keep learning more and more about who you are and how to make it better. Continue changing the future of our world by your innovation. If you read this far you might be wondering where the "pastor" stuff went off to. One of the greatest joys of my life and position as a pastor is finding God in everything. As the wise theologian Chris Pratt once said, "When giving a dog medicine, put the medicine in a little hamburger and they won't even know they're eating medicine." Authenticity is a choice. Creativity is a choice. Identity is a gift. Remember, your identity is not up for grabs, but it might be up for sale. And it isn't cheap. But it has already been paid for by the life-giving sacrifice of Jesus.

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page