top of page
  • Writer's pictureJake Stone

You're a Pastor AND you play video games?

Updated: Sep 22, 2023

3 things to consider when reconciling video games and faith.



Let's start with the obvious - I'm not a typical pastor. To be honest, I don't want to be "typical" with anything I do, but that's beside the point. I'm not your typical pastor. I'm young (I think). I don't have formal education from a seminary (Don’t tell my church). I have a passion for video games. I'm a nerd.


Let's continue with the less obvious - Following Jesus and being a nerd CAN coexist. I'm not sure about you, but I have been in my fair share of circles that would not agree with that statement. So, I want to offer 3 things to consider when wrestling with the idea that Jesus and gaming can coexist. This may sound like a defense for gaming, and maybe it is; however, I hope that it will help someone find grace and truth.



Consideration #1 - Who told us gaming isn’t okay?


There are a lot of voices out there in the world. Which voice(s) told us that we can’t follow Jesus AND be a gamer? Now, to be clear, there are plenty of voices that we should listen to. I'd like to humbly suggest that we listen to voices that speak what I'll call "transcendent truth". The culture we live in, as it changes, will always speak boldly and speak loudly. That's been my experience. I've experienced cultural voices speaking into this area of my life. While growing up, the culture I lived in communicated that video games are more than simply a tool. There was an identity connected to video games, and it was deeper than simply "gamer" or "nerd". There was a certain kind of stigma around being a gamer or a nerd. That stigma led to parental disappointment, peer neglect, bullying, and more. What I have found to be so unfortunate about this is that transcendent truth was nowhere to be found. Cultural perspective, generational ignorance, and blind stagnation in the midst of technological inflation ruled the day. Gamers and nerds alike were shunned and led to abandon something they enjoyed with little to no reason as to why. What a travesty! This is why I'm suggesting that we listen to transcendent truth, not merely cultural perspectives. Find your “why”. Find the truth that sets you free. Find the bridge between what's around you and what's inside of you. Listen to that voice.


Consideration #2 - Keep personal conviction personal.


For some people, to engage or not to engage in gaming is a personal conviction. When our personal convictions are imposed onto others, we have a problem. As we've already discussed, conviction should be informed by transcendent truth, not necessarily cultural perspectives. I will admit, this does get a little sticky; here's why - Most of our personal convictions are birthed out of passion for change and/or betterment. Let's face it, I'm convicted about certain things because I believe those certain things are the best way to go about life. So, when you or I have conviction birthed out of that, we want to lay it on others. I believe one of the strongest, most sought after characteristics of a leader is conviction; however, conviction that is deeply personal. Oftentimes, I gain new convictions as I watch someone else's conviction change their life in admirable ways. Wouldn't it be great if that were how we treated our convictions? Again, I always want to be the appropriate amount of apologetic - There are public convictions that can inform our private convictions. Let's just use a bit of discernment when analyzing the sources of the convictions we cling to so tightly. Sometimes our own personal journey of growth is, imagine this, our own personal journey of growth.


I believe one of the strongest, most sought after characteristics of a leader is conviction; however, conviction that is deeply personal.

Consideration #3 - Purpose is necessary.


May I offer the true problem I believe arises with this conversation? Purpose is contagious, desired, and necessary. Purpose is necessary, even regarding the topic of video games. I would contend that most opposition to nerd culture and video games lands within the sphere of purpose (or lack-thereof). Allow me to encourage you - Search for purpose. Purpose can be found in many things. Well, purpose can be found in anything, albeit good or not. Let's find good purpose. Even in nerd culture and video games, let's find and fight for purpose. Andy Stanley says, "Purpose is found just on the other side of 'What's in it for me?'." So follower of Christ, nerd, gamer, what purpose are you gaming for? Better yet, what purpose are you living for? That's what this boils down to. As a follower of Jesus, I believe it is one of the greatest gifts of grace ever presented to mankind - the opportunity to use our imagination in declaring the Good News of God to the world. Think about it, if the news of Jesus is actually good, then let's get creative in finding ways to communicate it! Maybe this is a good time to bring up our idea of transcendent truth. If you or I have a truth that we believe transcends the scope of history, the pressures of cultural and societal norms, then shouldn't we allow that truth to lead us into transcendent purpose? What if, hang with me, what if we all decided to be consistent in allowing our identity, convictions, and purposes to be guided by the truth that we claim - whatever truth that might be. God help us to not be so afraid.



I want to end this the way I began.


I'm a pastor. I'm a nerd. I love Jesus. I enjoy gaming. I get transcendent truth from the words of Jesus. I work hard every day to allow His words to inform my identity, my convictions, and my purpose. I thank God often that He gives me the freedom to leverage His good gifts in ways that matter. I'd be honored if you'd join me.

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page